The Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame 2004 Inductees

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame was established in 1996 by the J. Wayne and Kansas City Science Fiction and Fantasy Society and Elsie M. Gunn Center for the Science Fiction Study at the Kansas University. Each year from 1996 to 2004, the Hall of Fame honoured four people from the continuing excellence and longtime contribution to the science fiction and fantasy area.

Inductions are made in Seattle into the renamed Science Fiction Museum and Hall of Fame. The new Hall of Fame enlarges the Hall of Fame to recognise motion picture professionals and artists while reducing the emphasis on writers and highlights only science fiction. There isn’t any current Hall of Fame for the fantasy writers.

Each year’s inductions of Fame occurred in Kansas during the Campbell Conference in July at the University of Kansas.

2004 Inductees of The Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame

Brian Aldiss‘ first publication was “Criminal Record” in 1954 in Science Fantasy. Since then he’s written over 300 short stories and forty novels. He’s also composed poetry and highly acclaimed works that were essential. He has three times been Toastmaster of the Convention of World Science Fiction or Guest of Honor and was honoured as Grand Master of SFWA in 1999. Mr Aldiss is a resident of the UK. He has won the Hugo Award, British Science Fiction Award, Nebula Award and John W.

Brian Aldiss

Also, Know — The Best Movies and TV Show App

Harry Harrison‘s professional writing career spans fifty years. He started in the 1940s as an artist and writer of comic strips. Deathworld, his first novel and also the sequel to it were and still are hugely popular. The Stainless Steel Rat is featured by his hottest show. The West of Eden trilogy indicated a newborn stage in the career of Harrison. With Brian Aldiss, he organised the John W. Campbell Award.

Harry Harrison

Mary Shelley‘s The Modern Prometheus, or the Frankenstein is considered by some to be the first novel of science fiction. Her other early science fiction contains the book “The Last Man” and several short stories.

E. E. “Doc” Smith (1890-1965) was one of the most famous writers of “space opera.” His two most successful show were the Skylark series which started with the Lensman series that began with Triplanetary and Skylark of Space. Almost 30 novels were written by him, mainly in the era of 1930s and 1940s, though his writing continued until his death.